مسابقة "بالعلوم نفكر" لعام 2019 - الأحكام والشروط

  • يسمح لجميع الأفكار المبتكرة في تخصصات العلوم التطبيقية والتكنولوجيا المشاركة في المسابقة
  • سيتم اختيار 100-200 مشروعاً فقط للتنافس في كل مسابقة على مستوى الإمارة
  • يجب ألا يتعدى الفريق الواحد ثلاثة مشاركين فقط كحد أقصى للمدارس وأربعة للجامعات
  • على جميع المشاركين أن يكونوا مقيمين في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة
  • يشترط أن يقوم المدرس أو مشرف المختبر بتسجيل طلبة المدارس ومشاريعهم، بينما يقوم طلبة الجامعات بالتسجيل مباشرة حيث يبدأ التسجيل قائد الفريق ثم يضيف أعضاء الفريق
  • كافة المشاركين من طلبة المدارس الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 21 عاماً هم تحت مسؤولية مُشرف المدرسة الذي قام بتسجيلهم . ويُقر مشرف المدرسة (المدرس/المُدرِسة) بأنه/أنها حصل / حصلت على تصريح كامل من أولياء أمور الطلبة المسجلين من قبله / قبلها للمشاركة في برنامج بالعلوم نفكر، وأنهم سيكونون تحت مسؤوليته/مسؤوليتها و إشرافه/إشرافها طيلة فعاليات ورش العمل والمعرض وأي من أنشطة البرنامج. لا تتحمل مؤسسة الإمارات أي مسؤولية في الإشراف عليهم. ويُقر المُدرس/المُدرِسة بأنه قام/قامت بقراءة اتفاقية المشاركة في برامج مؤسسة الإمارات و نموذج المسؤولية القانونية ويوافق/توافق على شروطها وأحكامها بالنيابة عن الطلبة المسجلين من قبله / قبلها وبموافقة أولياء أمورهم.
  • سيتم عقد عدة مسابقات على مستوى الإمارة في عدة إمارات بهدف إشراك عدد أكبر من الشباب المبتكر
  • بعد انتهاء المرحلة الأولى لتقييم المقترحات العلمية للمشاريع في نوفمبر سيتم اختيار عدد كبير للتنافس وعرض مشاريعهم المكتملة على مستوى الإمارة في شهر فبراير/مارس 2019
  • المشاريع المميزة والفائزة من كل مسابقة على مستوى الإمارة ستتأهل للمرحلة النهائية لعرض مشاريعهم في معرض بالعلوم نفكر 2019 الذي سيقام في شهر إبريل في دبي
  • يجب أن يضم كل فريق مواطنين إماراتيين، وفقاً لما يلي:
    • المتقدمون من المدارس الحكومية والجامعات:
      • ثلاثة مواطنَين إماراتييَن في الفريق المكون من أربعة (للجامعات فقط)
      • مواطنَين إماراتييَن اثنين في الفريق المكون من ثلاثة
      • مواطن إماراتي واحد على الأقل في فريق مكون من اثنين
      • في الحالات الفردية سيتم قبول المشاريع المقدمة من مواطني دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة فقط
    • يمكن للمدارس والجامعات الخاصة التي ليس فيها مواطنين مطلقا المشاركة دون وجود مواطنين إماراتيين شريطة موافقة لجنة التحكيم على ذلك
  • يُنصح بتقديم ملخص شامل للمشروع بما لا يتجاوز 200 كلمة يتضمن الأهداف والنتائج بوضوح، وذلك لأن عدد المشاريع المشاركة محدود، ولن يتم قبول المشاريع المكررة
  • عند التقدم بمشاريع قد شاركت سابقاً في أي فعالية او مسابقة في دولة الإمارات يجب أن يتم توضيح نقاط التطوير فيها لتتأهل للمشاركة في مسابقة بالعلوم نفكر على مستوى الإمارة

يجب أن تكون المشاريع المُقدمة في أحد المجالات العلمية التالية:

  • جديد: الروبوتات والذكاء الصناعي: الأجهزة والأنظمة التي تعمل بطريقة مشابهة لطريقة عمل الإنسان وتفكيره وتمتلك خاصية التعلم الذاتي واتخاذ القرار والتي تجعل من عملية تعامل الإنسان المستخدم مع الجهاز او النظام طبيعية وذات كفاءة عالية
  • الكيمياء التطبيقية والهندسة الكيميائية والهندسة الحيوية والكيمياء الحيوية، والتي تتضمن ايضاً مشاريع تنقية الماء والهواء والمحافظة على البيئة، و أساليب التعقيم بالطرق الكيميائية، المواد الحافظة، الأنزيمات، مواد العزل، الأدوية، ومواد التجميل الطبيعية
  • الفيزياء التطبيقية وتضم مشاريع في المجالات المغناطيسية والكهرومغناطيسية والقياسات، وتشمل أيضاً التطبيقات الكهرو حرارية، بدل وخوذ التبريد(التي لا تحتوي أنظمة ذكية أو آمنة) الميكروسكوبات، العدسات، النظارات، والشحن اللاسلكي، الشواحن المطورة، الموصلات، تنقية المياه بطرق فيزيائية مثل المجال المغناطيسي، التعقيم بطرق فيزيائية مثل الموجات و ألتراساوند، و الاتصال اللاسلكي و اللاي فاي
  • الأنظمة الميكانيكية والصناعية وتشمل تصميم وتصنيع الأنظمة الميكانيكية والصناعية الذكية وعمل أدوات المعدات الصناعية والتي تشمل أيضاً أنظمة التبريد الصديقة للبيئة، سلات المهملات الذكية، أجهزة البيع وإعادة التدوير الذكية، الطابعات، الحقائب الذكية، أنظمة تغذية الحيوانات، أجهزة النسخ والعرض، أنظمة الاستحمام المطورة، وأنظمة الري المبتكرة، والكراسي والخزائن الذكية، والادراج المطورة والطابعات
  • الأنظمة الذكية وتشمل أنظمة التعرف على الأجسام الثابتة والمتحركة وأنظمة الحساسات والاستشعار والتحكم والتي تشمل التحكم باستهلاك الكهرباء، المطابخ الذكية، الثلاجات الذكية، النظارات الذكية، أنظمة رضى المتعاملين، الألواح الذكية، الشاشات الذكية، الأقلام والكتب الذكية، عربات التسوق الذكية...وتستثنى من هذه الفئة الأنظمة المصممة لخدمة أصحاب الهمم والأنظمة المصممة كتطبيقات صحية وأنظمة المواصلات وسلامة الطرق
  • أنظمة الأمان تشمل أنظمة الحساسات والاستشعار والتحكم لتطبيقات السلامة، مثل أنظمة منع الغرق والوقوع ، أنظمة إطفاء الحريق، أنظمة منع السرقة، أنظمة اكتشاف تسرب الغاز والدخان.... وتستثنى من هذه الفئة الأنظمة المصممة لخدمة أصحاب الهمم والأنظمة المصممة كتطبيقات صحية وأنظمة المواصلات وسلامة الطرق
  • الأنظمة الذكية وأنظمة الأمان لفائدة أصحاب الهمم وتشمل الأنظمة الذكية والآمنة وأنظمة التعرف على الأجسام الثابتة والمتحركة وأنظمة الحساسات والاستشعار والتحكم والمصممة كتطبيقات لفائدة أصحاب الهمم وتسهيل حياتهم اليومية، حيث تضم كل المشاريع المصممة لأصحاب الهمم السمعية والبصرية، الكراسي المتحركة، التطبيقات والألعاب لمرضى التوحد، والشلل، ومرضى باركنسون
  • أنظمة المواصلات وسلامة الطرق وتشمل تطوير المركبات وتحسينها وتطوير أنظمة الطرق و السلامة في المركبات، وتشمل أنظمة الإبلاغ عن الحوادث، و قياس المؤشرات الحيوية للسائق، وأنظمة التحكم بسرعة السيارة، وأنظمة المواقف، و الأنظمة الخاصة بضمان عدم نسيان الأطفال في السيارة وأنظمة المخالفات، وأنظمة تبريد السيارات، وأنظمة التحكم بالإشارات الضوئية
  • تصميم المركبات والطيران وتشمل أي تطوير على تصميم المركبات (تصميم، تصنيع، عمل وصيانة ويستثنى منها الأنظمة الذكية)، وتشمل الفئة تطوير السيارات والقطارات والسفن ووسائل النقل الصديقة للبيئة، وطائرة بدون طيار، مركبات بدون سائق، غواصات بلا غواص، والتعديلات على أنظمة العجلات وخزان الوقود وغطاء السيارة، وتطوير المركبات الفضائية والطائرات وتحسينها وتطوير أنظمة الطيران
  • الطاقة وتشمل مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة، والوقود البديل، و تقنيات إنتاج الطاقة بفعالية، والطاقة غير التقليدية، الديناميكا الحرارية، التطبيقات الحديثة للطاقة الشمسية، طاقة الوقود الأحفوري، الخلايا الهيدروجينية، الخلايا الميكروبية، الطاقة النووية، والطاقة الصوتية، وطاقة الرياح وطاقة المطبات، وتطبيقات الطاقة الحركية، والخلايا الضوئية المطورة، وتطبيقات طاقة أمواج البحر، وطاقة النباتات و التربة، وتصاميم البيوت الصديقة للبيئة والمعتمدة على مصادر طاقة متجددة وصديقة للبيئة
  • العلوم البيئية، وتشمل المشاريع المتعلقة بتطوير البنية التحتية لحل مشاكل بيئية في المياه او النفايات، دراسة استدامة المياه، وجودة الهواء والتلوث الهوائي، تلوث التربة وجودتها، جودة المياه والتلوث المائي، الزراعة المائية، استصلاح التربة، ومعالجة النفايات، تنقية المياه (باستثناء الطرق الفيزيائية والكيميائية)
  • العلوم الطبية والصحية وتشمل المشاريع التي تركز على صحة الإنسان، و الامراض، و التشخيص، و العلاج، و الوقاية، و علم الجينات، و المناعة واستخدام الأنظمة الذكية لمواجهة التحديات في هذه المجالات، وتسخير التكنولوجيا لتسين الخدمات الصحية المختلفة ومراقبة المرضى ومتابعة الحالة الصحية وإدارة الملفات الطبية مثل أجهز قياس الضغط والسكر والحرارة..إلخ، ثلاجات الدواء الذكية، وأجهزة اكتشاف الأمراض
  • علم المواد ويشمل دراسة و تطوير خواص المواد و تركيبها مثل خواص النانو، البوليمرات، المواد المضادة للماء، و تطوير الزجاج و السيراميك، و المواد المركبة
  • إكمال تسجيل المقترحات العلمية للمشاريع كاملة وأعضاء الفريق قبل 10 أكتوبر 2018
  • بعد استلام بريد إلكتروني يؤكد تأهل المشروع للتنافس على مستوى الإمارة،إنهاء العمل على المشروع والحصول على النتائج ومطابقة المشروع المكتمل للمشروع الذي تم التقدم به أصلا للمسابقة وتقديم أدلة على وجود جهاز يعمل و/أو منتج نهائي قبل 6 يناير 2019
    • تقديم تقرير علمي مع النتائج قبل 6 يناير 2019
    • تقديم ما لا يقل عن 3 صور واضحة للمشروع
    • تقديم فيديو للمشروع يوضح عمل الجهاز و/أو المنتج النهائي
  • سيتم استبعاد المشاريع التي لم تقدم الأدلة المطلوبة عن اكتمال المشروع وفعاليته للتأهل للمسابقة على مستوى الإمارة
  • الالتزام بالتنافس وعرض المشاريع المكتملة على مستوى الإمارة لمدة ثلاثة أيام في شهر فبراير/مارس 2019 (سيتم الإعلان عن المواعيد والتواريخ والأماكن لاحقاً)
  • المشاريع المميزة والفائزة من كل مسابقة على مستوى الإمارة ستتأهل للمرحلة النهائية لعرض مشاريعهم في معرض بالعلوم نفكر 2019 الذي سيقام في شهر إبريل في دبي
  • يجب تحميل ما يلي عند ملء استمارة المشاركة الإلكترونية في المسابقة: (تنسيق jpg, .gif or .pdf)
  • صورة عن جواز السفر لجميع المشاركين
  • فيزا الإقامة في الإمارات للوافدين
  • صورة صفحة الرقم الموحد للإماراتيين
  • صورة بطاقة الهوية الإماراتية (من الامام و الخلف)
  • صورة شخصية رسمية
  • لا يجب أن يزيد حجم أي من الوثائق عن 750 كليوبايت
  • يجب توفير اسم وبيانات ولي الأمر لكل الطلبة المشاركين من المدارس والجامعات لإتمام عملية التسجيل
  • يجب إتمام عملية التسجيل الإلكترونية وتعبئة كافة بيانات الفريق والمشروع قبل إغلاق باب التسجيل
  • سيتعين على أعضاء الفريق والمشرف للمشاريع المقبولة أن يقوموا بتوقيع اتفاقية المشاركة في المسابقة في شهر فبراير.
  • مجال جديد للإبداع: مشاريع مميزة في فئة الروبوتات والذكاء الصناعي ... ساهم ببناء المستقبل عبر التقدم بمشاريع الأجهزة والأنظمة التي تعمل بطريقة مشابهة لطريقة عمل الإنسان وتفكيره وتمتلك خاصية التعلم الذاتي واتخاذ القرار والتي تجعل من عملية تعامل الإنسان المستخدم مع الجهاز او النظام طبيعية وذات كفاءة عالية
  • يجب أن تكون المشاريع نماذج علمية تفاعلية، تتبع المنهجية العلمية في شتى مجالات العلوم التطبيقية والتكنولوجيا
  • الأفضلية للنماذج التفاعلية (Prototypes ) في تخصصات أشباه الموصلات، الذكاء الصناعي ، والطيران، وسلامة الطرق، والهندسة البيئية، واستدامة المياه والامن الغذائي و العلوم الطبية والصحية وفائدة أصحاب الهمم وغيرها
  • الأبحاث العلمية العملية المرتبطة بفائدة مجتمعية، وتحل مشكلة أو تحد يواجه المجتمع، بشرط تقديم منتج نهائي ملموس
  • مشاريع البحوث النظرية، وعلى سبيل المثال: ما هو الإعصار؟ أسباب الحوادث المرورية...
  • الدراسات/الأبحاث غير المرتبطة بفائدة مجتمعية مباشرة من خلال منتج نهائي واضح، ولا تقدم حلول فورية لمشكلة أو تحد يواجه المجتمع، مثل دراسة عن خواص فيروس إيتش 1 إن 1 دون توفير منتج للعلاج أو تثبيط النمو
  • الاستبيانات
  • النماذج (مثل البراكين،، النظام الشمسي...).
  • تطبيقات تقليدية على الطاقة الشمسية (ثلاجة شمسية، سيارة شمسية، فرن شمسي...)
  • تطبيقات تقليدية لإنتاج الديزل والغاز العضوي (البيوديزل و البيوغاز)
  • مشاريع إعادة التدوير التقليدية (مثل تحويل النفايات الإلكترونية إلى إكسسوارات)
  • المشاريع المصممة والتي تم اختبارها فقط عبر برامج و أجهزة المحاكاة (Simulators) (وجود جهاز أو نموذج تفاعلي أو منتج نهائي ملموس هو متطلب إجباري)
  • لتفادي التكرار، تتوفر جميع المشاريع التي شاركت في الدورات الماضية في الكتيب الإلكتروني.
  • سيتم منح جميع المتأهلين للنهائيات شهادات تقديرية
  • عدد قليل من المشاريع المميزة والفائزة من كل مسابقة على مستوى الإمارة ستتأهل للمرحلة النهائية لعرض مشاريعهم في معرض بالعلوم نفكر 2019 الذي سيقام في شهر إبريل في دبي
  • يحظى المشاركون المميزون من كل مسابقة على مستوى الإمارة بفرصة إلحاقهم ببرنامج سفراء بالعلوم نفكر والذي يوفر لهم فرص تدريب، إلى جانب تأهلهم للمنافسة والمشاركة في مسابقات وفعاليات مختلفة داخل دولة الإمارات
  • يحظى المشاركون في المسابقة من مواطني دولة الإمارات فقط بفرص تأهلهم للمنافسة والمشاركة في مسابقات إقليمية، ودولية (وفقاً للفئة العمرية)
  • سيتم تشكيل لجنة تحكيم خارجية لاختيار أفضل المشاريع المقدمة
  • بإمكان العلماء والمهندسين والمختصين من التعليم العالي (الحاصلين على شهادة الدكتوراة) والقطاع الصناعي المتخصصين في العلوم والتكنولوجيا و الهندسة التقدم بطلب الانضمام للتطوع كأعضاء في لجنة التحكيم، والمشاركة في تقييم المشاريع العلمية المبتكرة التي ستتنافس على مستوى كل إمارة في شهر فبراير 2019
  • يجب أن تتوافر في المتقدم الشروط التالية:
  • إتقان اللغة العربية والإنجليزية كتابة وقراءة
  • أن يكون متخصصاً في العلوم والتكنولوجيا (الهندسة الميكانيكية أو الكهربائية أو الصناعية أو الكيميائية أو هندسة البترول أو هندسة الطيران أو تقنيات المعلومات أو الأنظمة الذكية أو أنظمة السلامة أو الفيزياء التطبيقية أو الكيمياء التطبيقية أو العلوم الطبية والصحية أو العلوم البيئية أو الروبوتات والذكاء الصناعي)
  • يجب تعبئة جميع البيانات المطلوبة بالعربية والإنجليزية عند التسجيل
  • الفترة الزمنية لعمر صفحة التسجيل قصيرة، لذا يجب تعبئة البيانات بسرعة
  • عند التقدم بمشاريع قد شاركت سابقاً في أي فعالية او مسابقة في دولة الإمارات يجب أن يتم توضيح نقاط التطوير فيها لتتأهل للمشاركة في مسابقة بالعلوم نفكر على مستوى الإمارة
  • يجب تحميل ما يلي عند ملء استمارة المشاركة الإلكترونية في المسابقة: (تنسيق jpg, .gif or .pdf)
  • صورة عن جواز السفر لجميع المشاركين
  • صورة عن فيزة الإقامة في الإمارات للوافدين
  • صورة صفحة الرقم الموحد للإماراتيين
  • صورة بطاقة الهوية الإماراتية (من الامام و الخلف)
  • صورة شخصية رسمية
  • يجب توفير اسم وبيانات ولي الأمر لكل الطلبة المشاركين من المدارس والجامعات لإتمام عملية التسجيل
  • كافة المشاركين من طلبة المدارس الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 21 عاماً هم تحت مسؤولية مُشرف المدرسة التي قامت بتسجيلهم ويُقر مشرف المدرسة (المدرس/المُدرِسة) بأنه/أنها حصلت على تصريح كامل من أولياء أمور الطلبة المسجلين من قبله / قبلها للمشاركة في برنامج بالعلوم نفكر، وأنهم سيكونون تحت مسؤوليته/مسؤوليتها و إشرافه/إشرافها طيلة فعاليات ورش العمل والمعرض وأي من أنشطة البرنامج، ولا تتحمل مؤسسة الإمارات أي مسؤولية في الإشراف عليهم. ويُقر المُدرس/المُدرِسة بأنه قام/قامت بقراءة اتفاقية المشاركة في برامج مؤسسة الإمارات و نموذج المسؤولية القانونية ويوافق/توافق على شروطها وأحكامها بالنيابة عن الطلبة المسجلين من قبله / قبلها وبموافقة أولياء أمورهم

2019 Think Science Competition – Terms & Conditions

The Competition will be opened for all innovative ideas related to different applied sciences and technology disciplines.

  • Only 100-200 projects will be selected to compete at each of the Emirate’s Level Think Science Fairs
  • A maximum of three participants can make up each team in the schools category
  • A maximum of four participants can make up a team in universities category
  • All participants must be residing in the UAE.
  • School Students must register through a science teacher/lab technician. For University students, the team leader initiates the registration
  • All school participants under the age of 21 are under their school supervisor’s responsibility, and the supervisor (teacher) confirms that he/she has the full permission of the legal guardian of the students that he/she registers to participate in the Think Science Program and that they will be under his/her full responsibility and supervision at all times, during the workshops, Exhibition, Fair, and during any of the Think Science program’s activities. Emirates Foundation holds no responsibility on supervising those participants. The teacher (supervisor) agrees that he/she read the EF Participant’s Release and Waiver of Liability Form and agrees to its terms and conditions on behalf of his/her registered students with their legal guardian's consent
  • Selected Teams will compete at the Emirate’s Level Think Science Competitions, and the best teams from different fairs will be qualified to participate in the final stage of the National Think Science Competition at the 2019 Think Science Fair, which will be held in Dubai in March 2019.
  • Only few outstanding teams from each Emirate’s Level Think Science Competition will be selected to participate in the final stage of the National Think Science Competition at the 2019 Think Science Fair, which will be held in Dubai in March 2019.
  • Each team must have Emirati nationals as per the following:
    • Applicants from Schools and Universities:
      • At least three Emirati nationals in a team of four (university team)
      • At least two Emirati nationals in a team of three
      • At least one Emirati national in a team of two
      • In case of applying as one individual, the participant must be Emirati.
    • Private schools and universities with no Emirati students may participate with no Emirati nationals subject to the approval of the judging committee
  • A comprehensive and detailed abstract (only 200 words) with clear objectives and outcomes must be submitted (the number of participating projects is limited)
  • Redundant or repeated projects will not be accepted as such the project abstract must be written carefully and in detail to successfully qualify for the competition
  • Projects that were previously displayed in any other competition or event in the UAE needs to be enhanced to qualify to participate in Think Science Emirate’s Level Competitions

The submitted projects should be within the scope of one of the following fields:

  • ROBOTS AND ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

    Devices that operate similar to the ways humans think and process information. Systems that provide for increased interaction of people and machines to more naturally extend and magnify human expertise, activity, and cognition. Studies that explore the behavior of dynamical systems with inputs, and how their behavior is modified by feedback. This includes new theoretical results and the applications of new and established control methods, system modelling, identification and simulation, the analysis and design of control systems (including computer-aided design), and practical implementation.

    It also includes Machine Learning where construction and/or study of algorithms that can learn from data is used.

  • APPLIED CHEMISTRY

    Includes Biochemistry/ Chemical Engineering/ air and water Chemical purification methods, preservatives, medicines, cosmetics from natural products, enzymes, preservatives, insulators sanitization and disinfection using chemical methods, and application of Environmental Chemistry.

  • APPLIED PHYSICS

    Magnetics and Electromagnetics, Devices that works based on thermoelectric concept (utilizing the difference in temperature to cool or heat, heating/cooling mechanisms), cooling suits and helmets (does not have a smart system) , microscopes, lenses, glasses, wireless charging, chargers, superconductors, air and water purification using physical methods like electromagnetism, sanitization and disinfection using physical methods like waves/ultrasound, and LiFi technology applications

  • INDUSTRIAL AND MECHANICAL SYSTEMS

    Designing, manufacturing and maintenance of smart industrial and mechanical systems and operation of machines and tools with industrial use, including Eco Friendly devices like Air conditioners, smart recycling bins, smart vending/ recycling machines, smart irrigation systems and enhanced or environment friendly printers. It also includes flying bags, grass cutters, animals’ feeding machines, scanners, projectors, smart seats/chairs, modifications on wardrobes and closets, modifications on stairs, modifications on showers and faucets.

  • SMART SYSTEMS

    Object recognition devices, sensing, actuation, and control systems that make decisions based on the available data, including electricity consumption control systems, but excluding systems related to health monitoring , determined ones and transportation.

    It includes smart screens, smart kitchen, smart carts, smart fridge, smart glasses, smart customers’ satisfaction system, smart pens, smart boards, smart books, smart irrigation and garden..etc

  • SAFETY SYSTEMS

    Safety and status monitoring, multifunctional safety devices, and control systems that make decisions based on the available data for safety applications, but excluding systems related to health monitoring , determined ones, and transportation

    It includes fire and smoke detection, drowning and falling detection, gas leakage detection and theft detection

  • TRANSPORTATION AND ROAD SAFETY SYSTEMS

    Smart Vehicle Developments for safety purposes, Smart Applications related to vehicles’ improvements, any transportation-related smart system that focuses on road/vehicles for safety purposes. Examples: Accidents/crash reporting, driver vital measures, speed control systems, Parking booking, forgotten children, car locks, fining systems, car cooling, traffic lights control..etc

  • AVIATION, AERODYNAMCS, AND VEHICLES DESIGNS

    Any Development on Vehicle’s designs and improvements (Design, manufacture, operate, or maintain) excluding Smart Applications. It covers airplanes, cars, trains, and boats designs, including the development of ecofriendly vehicles, Drones, aerospace projects, flying cars, tires modification, tanks improvements, car covers..etc)

    It also includes all Remotely Operated Vehicles (ROV), Unmanned Arial Vehicles (UAV) or drones, and Autonomous Underwater Vehicles (AUV)

  • SYSTEMS FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE DETERMINED ONES

    Any project designed for the benefit of “The Determined Ones”, including Smart or Safety Systems (Object recognition devices, sensing, actuation, and control systems that make decisions based on the available data including GPS applications)

    Examples: Any project designed for the benefit of Blind and Deaf individuals, developments on wheelchairs, applications and games for autistic children, projects that support paralyzed individuals, and individual with Parkinson’s disease.

  • ENERGY

    Studying of renewable energy structure and processes related to energy production and efficiency. Examples: Piezoelectricity, Sea waves energy and Hydropower, Mechanical to Electrical Energy, Nuclear Power, Thermal Power, Sound waves power, wind power, speed-breakers, Alternative Fuels (methane, natural gas, ..etc) , New applications on Solar Energy, Fossil Fuel Energy , Microbial Fuel Cells, Hydrogen Cells, energy from soil and plants, Modified and improved solar cells, and the study of materials that convert/store solar energy through chemical changes including photovoltaic material , and Sustainable Home Designs that are ecofriendly in terms of electrical energy production via renewable/alternative energy sources

  • ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES

    Projects that have developed processes and infrastructure to solve environmental problems in water supply, and waste disposal. Examples: Waste Management, Water Sustainability, Aquaponic Agriculture, Water Purification techniques excluding the chemical and physical methods, Bioremediation, and Pollution Control

  • HEALTH AND BIOMEDICAL SYSTEMS

    This category focuses on systems specifically designed to address issues of human health and disease, and tackling those issues by utilizing smart technology, developing different smart systems by the use of data to improve efficiency and outcomes of medical services. It includes smart systems used for the diagnosis, treatment, prevention of disease and other damage to the human body or mental systems, and includes patients’ records and drugs management. Examples: Cancer detection device, artificial joints, health monitoring devices (Blood pressure, sugar level, temperature,…etc), smart medicine fridge, systems to detect or support healing of medical disorders

  • MATERIAL SCIENCES

    The study of the characteristics and uses of various materials with improvements to their design which may add to their advanced engineering performance. Examples are ceramic and Glasses, Composite Materials, Nanomaterials, Hydrophobic Materials, and Polymers.

  • Complete the registration of your project’s proposal and team members before October 10, 2018
  • Upon receiving the acceptance email in November 2018, finalize your project as per the originally submitted proposal, and submit the below evidences for having a working and fully tested prototype and/or end product before Jan 6, 2019
    • The project’s scientific report with results before Jan 6, 2019
    • A minimum of 3 photos for the project before Jan 6, 2019
    • A video for the project showing the working prototype and/or end product before Jan 6, 2019
  • Any project/team that did not submit evidences for a working prototype and/or end product to participate in the Emirate’s Level Fair before Jan 6, 2019 will be disqualified
  • Commit to attending the 3 days Emirate’s Level Think Science Competition for your emirate in February 2019 (exact dates, locations, and timings will be announced later)
  • Winners and outstanding projects from each Emirate’s Level fair will be qualified to participate in the final stage of the National Think Science Competition at the 2019 Think Science Fair, which will be held in Dubai in March 2019
  • Each participant should provide / upload a digital copy of the following when filling in the proposal application form in {.jpg, .gif, .pdf format} :
    • Valid Passport copy
    • Valid Emirates ID copy (front and back)
    • Valid UAE Residency Visa for expatriates
    • Unified Number Page for Emiratis
    • Passport size formal photo
  • Maximum size of each document ( 750 KB )
  • Parent/Guardian name and contact details are required for all School and University students to complete the registration
  • All project information should be filled in online before the registration deadline
  • The final list of participants (teams and individuals) is required to sign and submit a hard copy of the Think Science participation agreement in February
  • New: Artificial Intelligence projects and Robots: Devices that operate similar to the ways humans think and process information. Systems that provide for increased interaction of people and machines to more naturally extend
  • Interactive Scientific Models that use the scientific methodology with practical experiments in different applied science and technology disciplines.
  • Interactive models and Prototypes (highly preferable in Artificial Intelligence, Semiconductors, Aerodynamics, Water Sustainability, Environmental Engineering, Food Security, Health and Bioinformatics, Systems for the Determined Ones… etc)
  • Interactive models and Prototypes (highly preferable in Artificial Intelligence, Semiconductors, Aerodynamics, Water Sustainability, Environmental Engineering, Food Security, Health and Bioinformatics, Systems for the Determined Ones… etc)
  • Theoretical Research projects (e.g. What causes a car accident in the UAE etc.)
  • Research/Study that is not directly linked to a community benefit through an end-product, and does not directly provide a solution for a problem (does not have a tangible end product) (e.g. The effect of mercury residues on an embryos’ development, The effect of light on a plants’ growth)
  • Theoretical Studies/ researches (e.g. A study about H1N1 Virus but does not provide end product like inhibitors or cure medicine )
  • Surveys
  • Static Models (e.g. Volcanoes, the Solar System etc.)
  • Conventional Biofuel and Biogas production
  • Conventional Solar Energy Projects (Solar Fridge, Solar Car, Solar Oven etc.)
  • Conventional Recycling Projects (Using Electronic Wastes to make jewelries and accessories)
  • Projects tested by Simulators only (having a working prototype or a tangible end product is mandatory)
  • To avoid any redundancy, projects that won in previous competitions are available at the E-booklet section
  • All finalists will receive a Certificate of Recognition
  • Only few outstanding teams from each Emirate’s Level Think Science Competition will be selected and qualified to participate in the final stage of the National Think Science Competition at the 2019 Think Science Fair, which will be held in Dubai in March 2019
  • Youth with outstanding projects qualified to participate in the final stage of the National Think Science Competition, will be enrolled in the Think Science Ambassadors Programme and will be awarded prizes, opportunities for internship, capacity building and empowerment workshops, and will become eligible to compete and participate in other competitions and activities within UAE (depending on their age group and activities’ requirements)
  • Only selected Emirati participants will be given the chance to participate in international and Emirate’s Level competitions and programmes
  • An external committee will be convened to judge the best-presented projects at each Emirate’s Level Think Science competition.
  • Scientists, engineers and professionals from higher education (PhD holders specialized in science and engineering) are invited to apply as judges volunteering to evaluate the innovative science projects competing at the Emirate’s Level Think Science competitions in February 2019
  • Applicants should be:
  • Bilingual (Fluent Arabic and English)
  • Specialized in science and technology (Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Electronics, Industrial Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Information Technology, Artificial Intelligence, Robots, Smart Systems, Safety Systems, Applied Physics, Applied Chemistry, Environmental Sciences, and Biomedical and Health Sciences)
  • When registering, applicant should fill in all fields (both Arabic and English)
  • The life time of each registration page is limited and applicants have to fill in the details quickly to proceed
  • Projects that were previously displayed in any other competition or event in UAE needs to be enhanced to qualify to participate in Think Science Emirate’s Level Competitions
  • Each participant should provide / upload a digital copy of the following when filling in the proposal application form:
    • Valid Passport copy ( .jpg, .gif, .pdf format )
    • Valid Emirates ID copy (front and back) ( .jpg, .gif, .pdf format )
    • Valid UAE Residency Visa for expatriates
    • Unified Number Page for Emiratis
    • Passport size formal photo ( .jpg, .gif, .pdf format )
  • Parent/Guardian name and contact details are required for all School and University students to complete the registration
  • All school students under the age of 21 are under their school supervisor’s responsibility, and the supervisor (teacher) confirms that he/she has the full permission of the legal guardian of the students that he/she registers to participate in the Think Science Program and that they will be under his/her full responsibility and supervision at all times, during the workshops, Exhibition, Fair, and during any of the Think Science program’s activities, and that Emirates Foundation holds no responsibility on supervising those participants. The teacher (supervisor) agrees that he/she read the EF Participant’s Release and Waiver of Liability Form and agrees to its terms and conditions on behalf of his/her registered students with their legal guardian's consent